Skip to content

Foolproof, satisfying brownies.

February 13, 2013

Club Mate. No Sleep. Coffee. Lots of sweets. Feeling fat, but no time for workout.

It’s exam period once again. And like every semester, I’m totally behind schedule with studying, so my current home is called library. I’m here nearly every day from morning ’til evening, eat most of my meals at the canteen and I miss cooking so much!

Studying nutrition is really interesting, especially now that I have left all the basic subjects like chemistry, biology and stuff behind and finally get to learn something about metabolic processes, health and nutritional behavior. Still, it’s a lot to learn, a lot of work and thereby pretty exhausting.

But apart from that, there’s other things. Life goes on outside the library.

Foolproof, satisfying brownies - 1

For example, Valentine’s Day is coming up, so I decided to repost my very first ever blogpost: Valentine’s Day brownies.

A few days ago I treated myself with some baking after having finished the first of my exams this semester – and yep, I made brownies. They’re probably not the best solution concerning my feeling fat-problem but still – baking makes me happy and my friends and flatmates helped me with the eating part.

Brownies are a good thing to bake when you’re totally exhausted, because they can be made so quickly, the recipe is foolproof and they’re always satisfying. I’ve made those brownies (with and without filling) again and again and again over the past years, sometimes leaving out, substituting or adding new ingredients – but the best version still is the original recipe, just as I posted it nearly two years ago. For one exception: the only thing that makes those cuties even better is adding melted chocolate to the batter – the result will be some chewy, satisfying, ultimately chocolatey and perfect-for-valentine’s-day brownies.

Foolproof, satisfying brownies - 2

For a seasonal valentine’s day look, I decorated the brownies with edible glitter hearts (found at Loft in Tokyo), but you could also enjoy them plain or fill them with chocolate ganache like I did in my previous post.

Brownies
Ingredients:
340g cane sugar
140g butter (cut into small pieces)
4 eggs
1 tbsp. vanilla
120g wheat flour
80g cocoa powder
80g bittersweet chocolate (for melting)
80g chocolate chips (I use 40g bittersweet and 40g milk chocolate, but you can combine as desired)
  • Preheat the oven to 335°F/170°C . Line a rectangular cake mould with baking.
  • Chop the bittersweet chocolate for melting roughly (or use chocolate chips) and carefully melt in a bain-marie.
  • Put sugar, butter, eggs and vanilla into a large bowl and mix together until well combined. Add flour, cocoa powder and chocolate chips and stir in carefully (I recommend doing that by hand – otherwise you might end up with half of the flour dusted over your kitchen!).
  • Add the melted chocolate (make sure it’s not too hot!) and mix until well combined.
  • Scrape the batter into the cake mould and bake for 25 minutes. Take the brownies out of the oven and let cool completely. (While waiting, you could make the filling, if desired)
  • Remove the cake from the mould and cut off the edges if neccessary, so you have an even rectangle. Next, cut into pieces as desired (small cubes, slices or whatever you prefer) OR
  • If you want to fill them, cut into not too small rectangles (mine were about 6cm x 7cm, I got 12 brownies with this size). Halve them horizontally and cut out small hearts from the upper half. Put some ganache on the bottom parts, top with the upper halves and enjoy!

Foolproof, satisfying brownies - 3

2 Comments leave one →
  1. dutch friend permalink
    February 13, 2013 10:43 pm

    Your feeling fat problem is no problem at all, believe me ;)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 40 other followers

