Skip to content

Coconut truffles

March 1, 2011

I’ve always loved cooking. I remember myself as a three-year-old, sitting in the sand box and forming “cakes” from sand with enthusiasm. Fortunately, my mother always kept me from trying a slice. At the age of five or six, I was fascinated by brewing “magic potions” from any plant I could find in the garden. And I always enjoyed the descriptions of food in the stories my mother read to me or later in the books I read on my own.

I’m not sure when it was that I started real cooking, making something you could actually eat. But what I do remember very well is my first own recipe. These coconut truffles were probably the first thing I created all on my own, without following a recipe. That was about three or four years ago. Since then, I made them several times, always trying to improve the measurements of ingredients and finally, I think I found the perfect recipe.

J’s Coconut Truffles
makes about 15-20 truffles
Ingredients:
50g + 30g coconut flakes
50g cream
100g + 70g bittersweet chocolate, finely chopped (or chocolate chips)
2 tsp. powdered sugar
1 tsp. vanilla sugar
  • Put 100g of the finely chopped chocolate into a medium-sized bowl.
  • Bring the cream to a boil, pour over the chocolate and stir until well combined. If the chocolate doesn’t melt completely, heat in a bain marie and continue to stir.Β As soon as the chocolate is liquid and smooth, add 50g coconut flakes and combine well. Cover the mixture with clingfilm by putting the clingfilm directly onto the chocolate. Try to avoid air bubbles, as you don’t want the surface to get dry and hard. Let cool for at least 2 hours.
  • Remove clingfilm and cut off truffle-sized portions of the coconut-chocolate-mixture. Form small balls by rolling between your hands. Be careful not to keep them in your hands for too long, because the chocolate will melt. Continue forming truffles out of the mixture until there is none left.
  • Melt the remaining 70g chocolate in a bain marie. Prepare a board or a plate by coating it with clingfilm.
  • When the chocolate is smooth and runny, you can start covering your truffles with the first layer of chocolate. Put about 1 tsp. of the liquid chocolate onto your palm (make sure it’s not too hot so that you don’t burn yourself!), take one truffle with the other hand, put it on the chocolate, move it around quickly so that it’s all covered with chocolate but doesn’t melt and then put it onto the prepared board or plate to cool. Cover all of your truffles with chocolate.
  • Put the remaining 30g coconut flakes, the powdered sugar and vanilla sugar onto a plate and combine well. Spread the mixture over the whole plate.
  • When the first layer of chocolate on the truffles is hardened, coat with chocolate once again and put it directly onto the coconut-sugar-mixture. Move the truffle around until it’s completely covered with coconut flakes, let it rest for about 1-2 minutes and then put onto a plate or board to cool completely. Repeat this with all of your truffles.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. March 19, 2011 5:31 am

    Wow….your truffles are perfect! I can never get them that round!

    • March 22, 2011 5:20 pm

      Thanks πŸ˜‰ I think it depends on the consistency of your ganache – it has to be like modeling clay, not too soft but also not too hard. And you have to work fast or otherwise the ganache will melt. If your hands are too warm, try to cool them with water from the faucet!

  2. May 22, 2015 11:54 am

    They look excellent and being a big fan of coconut I think should surely try them

Leave a Reply

