Skip to content

Food photography and blogging in context of Grapefruit cake pops

May 31, 2011

Transfering my food pictures to my notebook today was somehow shocking for me. Since my camera had been under repair the last two weeks and I hadn’t been able to photograph any of my kitchen creations during that time, there were only the pictures I took of my most recent baked good – Grapefruit cake pops – on the memory card. Guess, how many pictures I took of them: 238! And that’s only the number of the ones I considered “good” pictures, which I decided not to delete directly from my camera.

It’s not always like this that I take hundreds of pictures of one baked good, but it happens from time to time. I always try to documentate the different steps of the baking process and the final product from different angles, in different arrangements and sometimes with different light. This time, for example, I took some pictures of the finished cake pops in the evening directly after making them, and a few pictures the next morning in bright sunlight.

To me, it’s pretty fascinating how much my photographing behaviour changed since I started blogging. Of course, I liked to take photos of beautiful and cute food before as wellย – that’s the reason why I started my blog – but now, I definitely take a lot more pictures and spend a lot more time on it than four months ago.

What about you? How has your photography changed since you started blogging? What aspects (like light, decoration, background, …) do you care about most when it comes to food photography?

Well, let’s get back to the topic because of which I originally decided to write this post – my very first cake pops! Recently, I had read a lot about these cute little sweets but I had neither made nor tried one of them before, so I simply decided to bake some cake pops and see if I would like them. I wanted something fruity and as I had some grapefruits lying around in my kitchen, they got to be my flavor of the cake pops. I started by brainstorming possible ingredients for the cake and the frosting. The grapefruit zest would go into the batter and the juice was supposed to flavour the frosting. I chose a simple buttercream frosting (containing mainly out of butter and sugar) and because this was obviously going to be pretty sweet, I decided to reduce the sugar amount in the cake for keeping balance in the sweetness of the whole cake pop.

I baked the cake batter in cupcake tins and these little cakes turned out to be not very sweet – like calculated – but tasting strongly like grapefruit. The basic idea of cake pops is to break the cake into crumbs, mix it with frosting, roll the dough into balls and coat them with whatever decoration you like. Mainly, this is also what I did. But I decided to leave two cupcakes intact, because this was an all new recipe for me and I was curious, what my grapefruit cupcakes would taste like. So I also took a little of the frosting, decorated my cupcakes with it and the result was pretty nice for a very first try of a completely new recipe. The cake and the frosting fit very well, they taste nicely like grapefruit but not too strongly, so you can still identify the cake. The texture of the cake is a not very moist but it goes well with the rather soft frosting.ย If you want to make cupcakes with this recipe, I’d recommend using more sugar for the cupcakes (1/2 cup to 3/4 cup instead of 1/3 cup), because the sweetness of the frosting will only be on top of the cupcake and not be combined with the cake crumbs.

The cake pops were really satisfying. I love the “crack” of the chocolate coating when biting into the cake pop, I love the softness of the cake and the slightly crispy texture of the few remaining crumbs inside, which give the whole thing a little edge. I love the grapefruit flavour which origins from the slightly bitter grapefruit zest in the cake and the hint of sourness from the frosting, and of course, I love the cute looks of these cake pops. So I’m proud to share this recipe with you today, I hope you enjoy these cake pops as much as I did ๐Ÿ™‚

Grapefruit cake pops – Part 1: Cake
makes about 15 2-inch-diameter cake pops
Ingredients:
1/2 cup = 60g butter (at room temperature)
1/3 cup = 40g cane sugar
zest of one grapefruit
1 egg
1 cup = 140g all-purpose flour
1 tsp baking powder
1/2 cup = 120ml milk
  • Preheat oven to 350 degrees F/180 degrees C. Grease a cupcake tin with butter.
  • Put butter, cane sugar and half of the grapefruit zest in a bowl and mix with a wooden spoon until creamy.
  • Add the egg and mix with a hand whisk until foamy.
  • Next, combine flour and baking powder in a second bowl. Add the dry ingredients alternatingly with the milk until everything is well combined. The batter should be smooth but not liquid.
  • Taste and if necessary, add the remaining grapefruit zest for a stronger citrus flavor. (I used the zest of the whole grapefruit and the cake turned out to be a little too bitter in my opinion, so I think it’s better to season carefully)
  • Spoon the batter into the greased cupcake tin, and if necessary, move the tin from left to right to flatten the cupcake surface. The batter should be enough for 6-8 regular sized cupcakes.
  • Bake for about 15 minutes or until a toothpick inserted comes out clean.
  • Let cool for 5 minutes before removing the cupcakes from the tin, then let them cool completely.
    Meanwhile, you could make the frosting!
Grapefruit cake pops – Part 2: Frosting
makes enough for 15 cake pops
Ingredients:
3/4 cup = 90g butter (at room temperature!)
1 cup = 100g powdered sugar
4-5 tbsps. freshly squeezed grapefruit juice
  • Put butter and powdered sugar into a bowl and whisk with a handmixer on low speed until creamy and well combined.
  • Add grapefruit juice spoon by spoon, mix well, taste, and add another spoon until the grapefruit flavor is strong enough.
  • Store in the refridgerator until using.
Grapefruit cake pops – Part 3: Making the pops, chocolate coating and decoration
Ingredients:
[ the previously baked cupcakes, cooled ]
[ the previously made frosting ]
120g white chocolate, roughly chopped
a few drops red food coloring (if desired)
1 large or 2 small kumquats
15-20 lollipop sticks or wooden sticks
a polystyrene board (at least 5 cm thick)
  • Break the cupcakes into small crumbs. Put them into a bowl together with the frosting and mix carefully, until you’ve got a kind of dough. You might need to combine crumbs and frosting by hand, if you don’t want to break all the crumbs.
  • Roll the dough into 2-inch-diameter balls. Put onto a plate and into the refridgerator.
  • Melt two thirds of the chocolate in a water bath/bain marie. As soon as all liquid and smooth, remove from heat and incorporate the remaining white chocolate. Stir until all smooth.ย Add one drop of food coloring and stir until well combined and the chocolate is evenly colored. Add more food coloring, drop by drop, until your desired color shade is reached. (I wanted a subtle pink as a contrast to the bright orange of the kumquat)
  • Wash the kumquats. Cut them into thin slices.
  • For making the cake pops, carefully insert a wooden stick into a cake ball. Then remove the stick, dip it into the molten chocolate and put it back into the hole. Place the cake pop upside down (cake ball down) on a plate and put it back into the refridgerator so that the chocolate gets firm. Repeat this with all the cake balls.
  • When the chocolate is solid and holds the cake pop in place, cover the cake ball with the molten chocolate. Carefully drip of any excess chocolate and add a slice of kumquat for decoration. Stick the cake pop into theย polystyrene board and let the chocolate harden. Repeat this with all your cake pops.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. May 5, 2013 3:54 pm

    Hey, I think your site might be having browser compatibility issues.
    When I look at your blog in Safari, it looks fine but when opening in Internet Explorer, it has
    some overlapping. I just wanted to give you a quick heads
    up! Other then that, excellent blog!

    • December 4, 2013 10:23 pm

      Not all CSS (basically the web coding that makes a website look pretty) is compatible in all browsers, usually Internet Explorer. So it’s not her website it’s the browser. I would say you should ditch the Internet Explorer and use Safari or better yet, Firefox.

  2. May 24, 2013 9:46 am

    Thank you for any other great article. Where else may
    just anyone get that kind of info in such an
    ideal method of writing? I’ve a presentation subsequent week, and I am on the look for such information.

Leave a Reply

