Skip to content

“Golden Tears” Blueberry Cheesecake

September 10, 2011

Blueberry Cheesecake is one of those typical summer desserts for me. Fruity, sweet and somehow refreshing.

This summer was a very special one for me, because it was the last I spent with my family and friends at home … Right now I’m already packing all my stuff into big cartons, because I’ll be heading out for university soon!I’m going to start studying nutritional science and I wonder whether this might change my attitude towards baking and cooking as well. Of course, I want to learn about nutrition, about its influences on our health and well-being and about nutritional diseases and how they can be cured. But apart from that, I’m a little afraid that I won’t be able to enjoy food as much as usually anymore because of knowing about all those maybe harmful things of which each food consists. I don’t want to lose my enthusiasm for baking, for aiming to make it as delicious as possible and I definitely don’t want to become one of those people who calculate the nutritional values of their food all the time.

In this context I sometimes even start to think it might be true that the naive, unknowing people can be happier than the educated, knowing people.Still, I’m really excited about going to university and learning about nutrition and health, and of course I’m also very excited about living on my own for the first time! So as an appropriate conclusion for this summer, I baked this blueberry cheesecake a few days ago and enjoyed it together with people who I won’t be able to see very often from now on. For cheesecake it’s especially pretty and moist because of the meringue-spread on top which prevents the cheesecake from getting dry and which turns golden while baking.

We had a really nice time eating this cake together and the familiar “yummy”-feeling, the comfort which occurs whenever I get to enjoy something delicious together with beloved people made me feel ready for whatever may come in university.

“Golden Tears” Blueberry Cheesecake (partly adapted from chefkoch)
makes a 28cm cake
Ingredients:
250g flour
1 large egg
1 1/2 tsps baking powder
90g sugar
75g butter500g regular quark
125g sugar
3 egg yolks
36g corn starch
1 tsp. vanilla extract
3 tsps. lemon juice
500ml whole milk
400g blueberries3 egg whites
100g sugar
  • Wash the blueberries carefully.
  • Put flour and baking powder into a bowl and mix well. Add sugar, egg and butter and knead together (preferably by hand) until you’ve got an even dough. Don’t overknead! Make a ball of the dough, cover with clingfilm and store in the refridgerator until needed.
  • Preheat oven to 180℃/350℉.
  • In another bowl, combine regular quark, sugar, egg yolks, 36g starch, vanilla, lemon juice and milk.
  • Roll out the dough and put it into a greased 28cm baking pan. Slightly press the batter onto the sides of the pan. Fill the quark-mixture into the pan and cover with the blueberries.
  • Bake for 50 minutes. Meanwhile, beat the egg whites with the sugar until stiff and firm. Remove cake from the oven and spread meringue on top of it. Bake for another 30 minutes at 130℃/265℉.


2 Comments leave one →
  1. azudeus permalink
    October 15, 2011 4:38 am

    Tabetaiiiiiii
    Jojo chan Do you know how to make chiffon cake?
    i want to make it…

    • October 18, 2011 4:37 am

      I’ll try to post a chiffon cake recipe as soon as possible – but before that I’ll have to try baking some successfully 😉

Leave a Reply

