Skip to content

Memories of March 11th 2011

March 11, 2012

Today, my heart goes out to all the victims and people who suffered from last year’s earthquake, the tsunami that followed and the nuclear catastrophy in Japan. It is still hard to find appropriate words to write about this topic.

Although I wasn’t there in Japan last year during the huge earthquake, I remember being afraid like I had never been before in my life. Afraid for my family, my friends and my home country. Fortunately, none of my relatives or other people I know got hurt. Still, it wasn’t nice not to know exactly what was going on during those few days which seemed like ages to me – not to know whether I was overreacting and panicking while things in Japan were not as bad as I imagined or if the nuclear catastrophy was getting even worse than the media told us. And I couldn’t do anything about it. I couldn’t help, except for donations and talking to my family on the phone, trying to give them hope.

All the more, I’m unbelievably glad to be in Tokyo right now. I’m truly thankful for the possibility of being around my family and friends, to have the chance of eating lots of delicious foods, nearly as always and to be able to enjoy the beauty of spring in Japan.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

