Skip to content

Sunday’s Seven

April 22, 2012

When I transfered pictures from my camera to my PC today, I came across a few older pics in my photo library, which somehow never managed to get onto my blog but are definitely worth sharing! So today’s Sunday’s Seven is about food photography – seven snapshots – once again.

Frozen Blueberry Double Cheesecake with blueberry sauce topping. I ate this at Amacha, Tsuzuki-ku in Japan last summer. Apart from how adorable this cake looks, the frozen cheese cream and berries tasted unbelievably good on a hot summer day!

Soymilk Crepes with homemade red currant and vanilla jam and bananas. This was one of the meals I made with friends at about 4 o’clock in the morning after coming home from a college party. Believe me, there’s nothing better than making some brownies, crepes or other sweets spontaneously in the middle of the night and enjoying them with friends!

Maple walnut cake with marzipan. I made this cake for my boyfriend’s birthday and he loved it. It’s a walnut and maple syrup cake, filled and frosted with chocolate ganache and coated and decorated with marzipan. For those of you who speak German – here‘s the recipe πŸ™‚

Now and then, my friends and I allow ourselved a nice evening with wine, bread and cheese. (Of course nothing fancy – we’re poor students, but still some yummy things!) On one of those evenings, I took this picture of a wine glass with the bottle in the background, which somehow reminds me of the relaxed and feel-like-home atmosphere of sitting together with friends. Maybe that’s why I like this picture so much!

Hirame sashimi (raw flounder) at “Kihara” in Sapporo, Japan. The chef served the sashimi with spicy-flavoured grated radish and soy sauce with chopped chives. As far as I experienced, Hirame is usually very mild, not to say bland sometimes. But this Hirame was so soft, melted in your mouth and although flavoured with the radish and soy sauce you could still taste the fish’s taste of its own.Β 

Heart-shaped nama chocolates with almonds. I made these for valentine’s day and took a lot more photographs than I actually posted in the end. This is one of the pictured that weren’t featured in the post but which I still like pretty much.

Triple chocolate dessert at “dominique saibron” in Futakotamagawa, Tokyo. It included chocolate mousse, chocolate ice cream and a small chocolate cake with liquid center. And yep, it was as good as it looks and sounds like!Β 

Hope all of you had a great weekend! I spent mine visiting the farmer’s market and cooking and eating a lot, for example at a russian birthday celebration today which meant mountains of good food! Unfortunately, my camera’s battery decided to die just at the moment I wanted to take pictures … Β So I’d better check the battery twice before going out to eat the next time. What food things happened to you this weekend?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

