Skip to content

Sunday’s Seven

January 6, 2013

A belated happy new year to you guys, hope you had a great start into 2013! I started my new year having champagne with my family at 12 and then went to Roppongi, where I had a fabulous new year’s eve with friends. Roppongi – that’s right, I’m in Japan again and of course, I also took a loooot of pictures during the past week and I want to share a few with you in another Sunday’s Seven post today!

2013-01-06 18.13.32

There’s something about starbucks seasonal drinks that always makes me want to try all of them – a while ago I had apple crumble latte and I’m still eager to try pumpkin spice as soon as I get the opportunity. Today, I had this Chocolate Brownie Mocha here in Tokyo. It was a cafe mocha with whipped cream, caramel sauce and brownie crumbles on top – yum! 

2013-01-04 14.11.25

Due to new-year-celebration-related family-meetings I had the chance to meet my japanese step-grandmother (from who I got the recipe for pumpkin pudding, remember? :)) for the first time. This time, she let me try some of her home made kuri kinton (a kind of sweet chestnuts paste, on the left) and mame kinton (a sweet paste consisting of beans, on the right) – both really delicious. She also told me how to make these – hope I can find some time to try it out soon!

2013-01-03 18.49.14

The obligatory sushi. On another new-year-related family gathering I got to eat at Momotaro in Komazawa, Tokyo once again. The photo shows Anago sushi but I also had Amaebi, Negitoro, Hirame and a few others and everything was delicious, as always.

2013-01-01 18.58.48

Ryukyu – an Oita specialty (Oita is a prefecture on one of the southern japanese islands). It’s sashimi (=raw fish) marinated in a sauce of soy sauce, sake, mirin, chopped leeks (or chives?) and sesame. My dad made this for me a few days ago, he chose buri (japanese amberjack), which is in season at the moment, as sashimi and it tasted just great!

2013-01-06 14.59.33

A snapshot of the bakery showcase of Dean & Deluca in Shinjuku. Love the way how muffins, scones and cakes are presented – it looks so beautiful & yummy!

IMG_7846

Matcha Cruller Donut at Krispy Kreme in Shibuya. It tasted good, I liked that this was not overly sweet although glazed with white chocolate, but “the original” donut (a simple, sugar-glazed Krispy Kreme donut) is still better! 

2012-12-28 13.37.09

I love the small details of japanese patisserie, like this tiny wooden Tour d’Eiffel (or Tokyo tower?) which is meant to help taking the cookies out of their small separate sections in the cookie box. 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

