Skip to content

Sunday’s Seven – breakfast edition

August 25, 2013

It’s summer break – that meansย I should be using the free time for studying every day as I’ll still have to pass a bunch of exams at the end of the semester break. But with the lots of sunshine everyday, it’s pretty hard to stay inside and stick to the books all the time. The comfortable temperatures and bright light motivate me to do so many things – baking for example.

Recently it happens pretty often that I feel the urge to bake something for breakfast when getting up in the morning. Especially at the times when my boyfriend is visiting me, I want him to wake up to a delicious scent of something freshly baked. So now and then I just take the time, decide to delay studying, and cook or bake some of the following seven homemade-breakfast ideas.

croissants

Croissants. I tried making croissants twice until now, following Julia Child’s recipe. Making the puff pastry takes a while so you better start making the batter a day ahead.

scones

Scones. Something more quickly baked is scones. Perfect for breakfast baking, as you can use whatever you have at hand for the filling. My batter included almonds, walnuts, chocolate chips and caramel fudge chunks. Pretty sweet but as already mentioned, that’s variable depending on your pantry and taste ๐Ÿ™‚

pancakes

Pancakes. These beautiful pancakes were made by a friend of mine. I don’t remember exactly how she made them, but I always use Jamie Oliver’s super simple recipe – 1 cup each of flour and milk + 1 egg + 1 tsp baking powder. ย Mix, bake, add toppings of your choice (blueberry sauce & raspberries, for example). The batter can be varied as desired – my version of apple pancakes is modified with cinnamon, for example.

crepes

Crepes.ย The dough recipe I’m always making calls for 500ml milk, 2 eggs, 160g flour, 1 tbsp. vegetable oil, a pinch of salt and 2-3 tbsps. sugar. Make the batter the evening before, chill overnight and bake them crepes freshly in the morning. My boyfriend loves his crepes spread with nutella, I prefer mine with a red currant & vanilla jam filling.

eggs

Savory fried eggs.ย Originally this isn’t my recipe – a friend made these fried eggs for me several times before he moved away, and now I’m making this dish for friends from time to time. It’s the perfect hearty breakfast after a long night out – simply bake a few eggs (I usually use about 5 eggs for 2-3 servings) in a frying pan, top with chopped tomatoes, chives or basil, maybe some olives and cheese (I prefer feta cheese) & season with salt and pepper.

cinnamon bread

Cinnamon bread.ย A recipe I found in a baking magazine some time ago: yeast dough, rolled out, spread with butter, sprinkled with sugar & cinnamon, cut into squares, stacked into a loaf pan and baked to become some caramelized yummy sweet goodness.

fruits

Fruits & yogurt. My standard breakfast does not really include cooking or baking but it’s good nevertheless and always a great start into a productive day: fruit salad with quark or yogurt and nuts, sometimes plus granola. Above is one of my favorite combinations: banana, grapes, blueberries and walnuts.

What’s your favorite breakfast?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

