Skip to content

Restaurant Day – Valentine’s Edition

February 19, 2015

As part of the latest Restaurant Day, kawaii kitchen had its second pop-up bakery at Lindener Markt in Hanover last weekend. Again, it was a blast. Lots of planning, baking and not so much sleep – and then a cold but wonderfully sunny, beautiful morning at the market. This time, I served Macarons au Chocolat, Macarons a la Vanille and an assortment of vegan Cupcakes:

Pumpkin Spice Cupcakes with (vegan) cream cheese frosting and plum filling, Lemon and Rosemary Cupcakes, Hazelnut Gianduja Cupcakes, Chocolate Mint Cupcakes and just in time for Valentine’s Day, Rose & Marzipan Cupcakes.

restaurantday02

Unfortunately, I forgot to take my camera with me, so all I can show you now is a few snapshots my boyfriend (or I) took in a hurry with my cellphone, sorry about that!

It was another great experience, it made me really happy that several people remembered me from last Restaurant Day and came along for some sweet treats again! But there were also a few (vegan) people complaining about my non-vegan macarons. Making vegan macarons is something I’ve been trying for at least half a year now, unfortunately without any success. I searched the internet and tried several recipes including meringue made from flax seeds or a mixture of starches and plant protein, but nothing really worked out well so far. Do you have any idea how to make vegan macarons? I’d be really glad about some helpful comments 🙂

Hopefully I can serve vegan macarons on the next Restaurant Day! Until then – hope you guys had a nice Valentine’s Day as well!

restaurantday03

4 Comments leave one →
  1. February 19, 2015 7:53 pm

    Liebe Jojo, wenn es am Eiweiß liegt, hast du es schon mal mit MyEy Eyweiss probiert? LG Belinda

    • February 19, 2015 7:55 pm

      Danke dir – Eiklar-Ersatz habe ich bisher noch nicht ausprobiert, wäre aber mal einen Versuch wert! 🙂

  2. February 20, 2015 10:36 am

    Beautiful!! They look delicious! 🙂

Leave a Reply

