Skip to content

Mint-glazed Lemon Cake

August 22, 2015

lemoncake 04

It’s been a while since my last post … again, I know. To those of you who are interested why: most of my time I was working in the lab during the past year and therefore did not have so much time to spend on baking and especially taking pictures and writing down recipes. Now that I got my Bachelor’s degree and finished my internship in another lab, I have a few weeks of free time until continuing my studies with a Master’s program in Berlin. Yep, that’s right, I’m moving to Berlin and I am freaking excited about it! Living in a big city again after nine years since I moved away from Yokohama is something I am so looking forward to!

But more importantly, I have more time to spend in the kitchen again! In fact, I am sitting in our flat’s kitchen in this very moment as I am finally typing a blogpost again. And next to me, there is this beautiful cake standing on the kitchen table, waiting to be devoured …

lemoncake 02

For my Farewell-Party at the Institute I baked a few things – no big surprise here probably – and one of these things was this delicious mint-glazed lemon cake. In my opinion, this is the perfect summer cake (apart from fruit tarts maybe), with it’s tangy citrus notes and refreshing coolness of the mint. On top of that, it’s super simple to make, only a little grating of lemon zest, adding a handful of other ingredients, glazing the cake after baking and that’s it! As some of my former colleagues really liked this cake, I baked it again for my flatmates (and for taking some pictures :)). Being worthy of a blogpost, I considered this cake, so here it is – the recipe for you, if you want to bake and enjoy a bite of this treat as well 🙂

Mint-glazed Lemon Cake || vegan
recipe adapted from Bored But Busy
makes one 20cm loaf
Ingredients:
100g vegan butter (I like to use organic Alsan) + a little more for greasing the baking pan
160g cane sugar
250g wheat flour
1 tsp. baking soda
1 tsp. apple cider vinegar or white wine vinegar
1 tsp. vanilla
2 medium-sized lemons (if using very large lemons, 1 1/2 should be enough: the zest and juice of one lemon for the cake, and juice of 1/2 lemon for the icing)
140g icing sugar
2 tbsps. mint liquor
15 small to medium-sized mint leaves + more for decoration
  • Preheat oven to 170 degrees Celsius. Grease your baking pan and set aside.
  • Grate zest of 1 1/2 medium-sized (or 1 large) lemons into a measuring cup, add juice of the 1 1/2 (or 1 big) lemons and fill up with water, then put aside.
  • Mix flour and baking soda and set aside.
  • In a medium-sized bowl whip together the vegan butter and cane sugar until creamy. Add vanilla and vinegar, mix in.
  • Add dry and wet ingredients alternatingly to the butter-sugar-mixture, stirring after each addition and mix until combined.
  • Pour batter into the prepared cake pan and bake for around 50 minutes or until a toothpick inserted comes out clean. To prevent burning of the surface, cover the cake with aluminium foil after 15-20 minutes of baking. After baking, let the cake cool for around 5 minutes, then remove from cake pan carefully and let sit on a rack until cooled completely.
  • In the meantime, prepare the icing: for the white lemon icing, mix 60g powdered sugar with 1 1/2 tbsps. lemon juice from the remaining half lemon, and if desired, add more liquid until desired consistency is reached.
  • For the mint icing, mix 1 tsp. chopped mint leaves (I used about 15 small to medium-sized leaves), 2 tsps. mint liquor and 80g of powdered sugar together. Add more liquid (lemon juice or water) if necessary until desired consistency of the icing is reached.
  • Pour both icings on top of the cake, decorate with more mint leaves and lemon zest if you like 🙂

lemoncake 07

5 Comments leave one →
  1. August 23, 2015 12:38 am

    It looks beautiful! Love how you styled this!

  2. August 23, 2015 11:06 am

    *Yammie* und herzlichen Glückwunsch zu bestandenen Bachelor und einen tolle Zeit in Berlin. Wirst hier fehlen! LG Belinda

Leave a Reply

